World Heritage sites of Australia

By AG Staff 28 August 2023
Reading Time: < 1 Print this page
A guide to Australia’s greatest natural and cultural treasures.

In 1978, 12 sites were inscribed on the first UNESCO World Heritage List. Today, the official list totals more than 1000 sites.

Australia is home to 20 of them.

“Australia’s collection of 20 UNESCO World Heritage sites are some of the most extraordinary natural and cultural treasures on the planet – after all, a place has to be truly remarkable to make it onto UNESCO’s list,” boasts Tourism Australia.

“Our World Heritage wonders range from prehistoric rainforest wilderness and ancient Aboriginal settlements to unique landscapes and natural attractions, as well as convict heritage and iconic 20th century buildings. Some are listed for their heritage values, others for their natural or cultural values. Many achieved their special status thanks to the passion and commitment of conservationists, ensuring that these special places will always be treasured. Here’s a taste of some of them.

Related: Will this be Australia’s next World Heritage Area?