AG Society Awards wrap 2009

By AG Society 9 September 2009
Reading Time: 2 Minutes Print this page
Celebrate the best of Australian endeavour: the 2009 winners

Did you STAY TUNED to AG Online on Friday, 16 October for updates from the floor of the 2009 Australian Geographic Society Awards? Here’s what you missed… 

2009 winners:

Lifetime of Conservation Awardee
Lifetime of Adventure Awardee
Tribute to Nancy-Bird Walton
Spirit of Adventure Award
Spirit of Adventure Award
Young Adventurer of the Year
Young Conservationist of the Year
Conservationist of the Year

Adventurer of the Year

We tweeted the recipients as they were announced, direct from the ceremony dinner table! 

Updates were available through our FACEBOOK PAGE, on TWITTER and on the website – as we released bios and photographs of awardees, as well as announcements and shenanigans as the night unfolded.

MiSociety Sydney social blog described the night as ‘awesome’ – read their recap of the AG Awards 2009 here – including photos.

The Awards

Your introduction to the highly anticipated annual Australian Geographic Society awards, complete with full list of winners.

Past awardee adventures

  • The caveman cometh

    2008 Lifetime of Adventure awardee Alan Warild shares his underworld exploits…

  • Underwater man

    2007 Adventurer of the Year, Lloyd Godson, makes himself at home under the surface…

  • Chills and thrills

    2008 Spirit of Adventure awardees, Chris Bray and Clark Carter battle through sub-zero.

  • First mate

    Dual Young Adventurer of the Year awardees, Justin Jones and James Castrission, on their worldfirst paddle across the Tasman.

  • High Adventure

    2006 Silver Medallion awardees Heather Swan and Glenn Singleman take to the skies…

  • World first, take two

    More adventures with Chris bray and Clark Carter…