Australia’s best photographers lauded

By AG staff 28 June 2011
Reading Time: < 1 Print this page
Winners of the Australian Professional Photographer of the Year awards for 2011 have been announced.

AUSTRALIA’S MOST PRESTIGIOUS photography awards have recognised the nation’s best photographers for 2011.

The Canon AIPP Australian Professional Photographer of the Year awards attracts thousands of entries.

This year’s overall winner is fine art photographer Gerard O’Connor, who will receive $20,000 in prizes for the honour.

“To win the Canon AIPP APPAs is the highest accolade in Australian professional photography,” Taz Nakamasu, managing director pf Canon Australia said in a statement.

The awards, run by the Australian Institute of Professional Photography (AIPP), have sought out Aussie photographers for 35 years, in categories including documentary, landscape, travel, fashion, advertising, and science, environment and nature.

The not-for-profit AIPP was founded in 1963 and is run voluntarily by professional photographers.