Image Credit: Australian Geographic

Conservation awards

  • December 01, 2010

Celebrating the best of Australian endeavour with the AG Society Conservation awards.

AG Conservationist of the Year Award

While most of us are committed to improving our environment, there are some whose efforts stand out within the field of conservation. As the AG Awards are a celebration of achievement and not a competition as such, not all categories are awarded annually. Each nomination and category is judged on merit alone.

Year Awardee
2015 Tim Faulkner
2014 Anna Rose
2013 Jim and Jean Thomas
2012 Bookend Trust (Niall Doran)
2010 Trevor Evans
2009 Ray Thomas
2008 George Bornemissza
2007 Lizzie Corke and Shayne Neal
2006 David and Judy Elliott
2005 Dr Menna Jones
2004 Alan Horsup
2003 Valerie Taylor
2002 Frank Manthey
2001 Alex Colley
1997 Nigel Brothers
1996 Densey Clyne
1995 Bryon Buick
1994 Jim Frazier


AG Young Conservationist of the Year Award

First awarded in 2009, the Australian Geographic Young Conservationist of the Year recognises young Australians who have a passion for conservation and have shown an outstanding contribution to the conservation of Australia’s natural heritage.

Year Awardee
2015 Amelia Telford
2014 Bindi Irwin
2013 Linh Do
2012 Kim Hands
2010 Simon Cherriman
2009 Larissa Young

About the awards
Lifetime awards
Adventure awards
Spirit of adventure awards