Australian Geographic Society Awards 2015 winners

By AG STAFF 27 October 2015
Reading Time: < 1 Print this page
The winners have been announced for this year’s awards for achievement, adventure and conservation.

THE ANNUAL AG Society Gala Awards will take place on 28 October at Doltone House in Sydney, hosted by Catriona Rowntree.

GALLERY: AG Society Awards 2015

As we kick off AG’s 30th birthday celebrations in style, we honour Australia’s best in the fields of conservation and adventure. From a businessman who donated more than $5 million to environmental causes, to the persuasive crusader who convinced his town to shun commercially bottled water, this year’s awardees are all examples of how making a difference is a partpersonal, part-public journey.

We are inspired by the achievements of all our worthy winners and continue to be awed by Jessica Watson, our special guest speaker on the night. Jessica’s 2010 solo sail around the world at the age of 16 stands as one of the great feats of Australian adventure and we were thrilled that she was able to share her journey with us all so vividly.

Young Adventurer of the Year

Danielle Murdoch

Young Conservationist of the Year

Amelia Telford

Spirit of Adventure

Huw Kingston

Adventurers of the Year

John Jacoby, Chris Porter, Andrew Maffett and Jim Bucirde

Conservationist of the Year

Tim Faulkner

Lifetime of Adventure

Eric Philips OAM

Lifetime of Conservation

Robert Purves AM