Spirit of Adventure 2014

By AG STAFF 27 October 2014
Reading Time: 2 Minutes Print this page
Australian soldiers Heath Jamieson and Seamus Donaghue have been awarded the Spirit of Adventure for 2014.

The Spirit of Adventure is awarded to people whose efforts reflect strength, determination and the ability to overcome obstacles to achieve their goal.

In 2014 it has been jointly given to Aussie diggers Private Heath Jamieson and Corporal Seamus Donaghue. They joined the charity Walking With The Wounded to tackle a 335km trek to the South Pole at the end of 2013.

Both had sustained serious injuries in Afghanistan and were selected for their sense of team spirit by Australian polar adventurer Eric Philips. Heath and Seamus – along with Eric, Canadians Alexandre Beaudin D’Anjou and Chris Downey, The Wire actor Dominic West, and co-founder of the charity Simon Daglish – formed Team Commonwealth.

Two similar teams from the UK and the USA made up the full South Pole Allied Challenge, originally conceived as a race. After enduring adverse conditions, all teams ceased racing mid-way and walked to the pole, but nonetheless raised more than $200,000 to help retrain injured soldiers for long-term employment after the armed forces.

Heath with HRH Prince Harry