Nominate your conservationist of the year!

By Rebecca Baker 28 November 2013
Reading Time: < 1 Print this page
Nominate your conservation hero for an Australian Geographic Society Award.

From local unsung heroes to the renowned go-getters, tell us who you think should win the Australian Geographic Conservationist awards this year!

Nominations are now open, so tell us about someone who you feel has made an outstanding contribution to the restoration or wellbeing of Australia’s natural environment, at a local, state or national level.

This year you can send us nominations for three prestigious Australian Geographic Society awards – the Young Conservationist of the Year Award (under 25s), Conservationist of the Year Award (for achievements within the last two years) or Lifetime of Conservation Award (for someone who has dedicated their lives to conservation).

Past award winners include Bob Brown who for over 40 years stood at the frontline of big conservation battles; Valerie and Ron Taylor, recognised in 2008 for 50 years of underwater conservation work, including their groundbreaking research into shark behaviour; Trevor Evans, founder of Secret Creek – a home to conservation projects for 12 different species of locally endangered wildlife; and Simon Cherriman, a young filmmaker with a passion for Australian wildlife.

Now it’s your turn to get involved! Download the nomination form and email it to [email protected] or post it to us at Australian Geographic Society, Level 7, 54 Park Street, Sydney, NSW 2000


Award winners will be announced at the Australian Geographic Society’s Annual Gala Dinner to be held at the Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney on Friday, 1 November 2019.

For more information on past Australian Geographic Society award winners visit the AG Society awards page.

All nominations must be received by 31 July, 2019.