David Malin Awards: the best of astrophotography

By AG Staff | July 16, 2018

An incredible image of the night sky across the Tasmanian Wilderness has taken out the top prize at this year’s David Malin Awards.

AUSTRALIAN GEOGRAPHIC photographer Luke Tscharke has taken out the top prize in this year’s David Malin Awards.

Held annually by the Central West Astronomical Society, the Awards showcase the best astrophotography and videos of the night sky. 

Luke’s winning image was of a crescent moon at Lake Oberon in Tasmania taken last year while he was on assignment for AG, where he set out to walk in the footsteps of renowned wilderness photographer Peter Dombrovskis.

Renowned astrophotographer David Malin, for whom the awards is named, said that he loved the shading of the mountains in the background and the way the Milky Way rises over the lake.

“The moon is there too, and there’s a meteorite on the right hand side. It looks like a moody daytime shot … but it is done at night,” he added.

Below are the winners for each category.

Category: Deep Sky

Winner: E lucevan le stelle by Peter Ward

Image alt text

A molecular cloud in the constellation of Ara. (Image Credit: Peter Ward/David Malin Awards)

Category: Solar System

Winner: Colours of Serenity and Tranquility by Stefan Buda

Image alt text

The colours of the moon. (Image Credit: Stefan Buda/David Malin Awards)

Category: Wide Field

Winner: Barrenjoey Milky Way Arch by Tom Elliott

Image alt text

The Barrenjoey Lighthouse in New South Wales. (Image Credit: Tom Elliott/David Malin Awards)

Category: Theme

Winner: Wagon and Neon Lights by Ian Inverarity

Image alt text

On wagon and neon lights captured at Hookina in South Australia. (Image Credit: Ian Inverarity/David Malin Awards)

Category: Animation 

Winner: Cape Bruny Nights by James Stone

The night sky behind Cape Bruny Lighthouse in Tasmania. (Image Credit: James Stone/David Malin Awards)

Category: Animation 

Winner: Yukon Aurora by Phil Hart

Aurora lights across the Yukon territory in north-west Canada. (Image Credit: Phil Hart/David Malin Awards)