What to expect from this year’s Australian Geographic awards

Everything you need to know.
By Australian Geographic October 9, 2018 Reading Time: < 1 Print this page

EACH YEAR Australian Geographic holds its annual awards night to recognise the achievements of Australia’s most outstanding conservationists and adventurers.

Recognising greatness since 1987, the AG Society Awards are Australia’s longest running awards for adventure. Along with the conservation awards added in the early 1990s, the event celebrates the best of Australian endeavour.

This year, the event will be held in Sydney on 26 October and will be hosted by esteemed journalist and broadcaster Ray Martin.

The winners of this year’s awards will be announced on the day of the awards and they will receive their AG medallions at the official ceremony.

AG will be welcoming special guests, the Duke and Duchess of Sussex to this year’s event in recognition of the conservation work achieved by the Queen’s Commonwealth Canopy.

The Queen’s Commonwealth Canopy was an initiative that began in 2015 to unite all the countries of the Commonwealth in creating a network of forest reserves.

The royal couple are currently in Australia to promote youth leadership, environmental and conservation efforts and will be giving away the youth awards at the event.

Past winners of the youth awards include conservationist Bindi Irwin, sailor Jessica Watson and adventurers James Castrission and Justin Jones.

Award sponsors Coral Expeditions, Aurora Expeditions and Saving Our Species will be giving away the Lifetime of Adventure, Adventurer of the Year and Conservationist of the Year awards.

The lifetime achievement awards are the AG Society’s highest honour; Bob Brown, Valerie Taylor, Tim Jarvis and Jon Muir, all past winners.